On October 3, the annual Research Awards Ceremony took place at the Centre Mont-Royal in downtown Montreal. Hosted by the Research Institute of the MUHC (RI-MUHC) and the partner Foundations of the MUHC, close to 100 awards were distributed to some of the hospital’s most promising researchers. The MUHC Foundation was proud to recognize 28 researchers for their ongoing work.

Maria Rosa Saderra Award – Dr. Nicole Bernard Phyllis Allan A. Aitken Memorial Award – Dr. Barry Bedell
Theresa Marcoux Award – Dr. John Kildea Ethel Lillian Creller Award – Dr. Louise Pilote
Howard W. Pillow Memorial Award – Ms. Shaida Ouladan Pauline Blidner Krupp Studentship Award – Dr. Hua-Chun Sun
Catherine Coyne Memorial Fellowship – Dr. Richard Kremer William Turner Award – Dr. Jean-Pierre Routy
Eileen and Louis Dubrovsky Award – Dr. John Kildea Brigadier-General Herbert Stanley Birkett Memorial Research Studentship – Dr. Aparna Suvrathan
Madelaine Tremblay Award – Dr. Jonathan Spicer Molson Foundation Award – Dr. Jeffrey Downey
Ephrem Marcil Award – Dr. Simon Wing Margaret Forster Memorial Studentship – Ms. Hao Yu Chen
Paul Stelmach Award – Dr. Jeremy Van Raamsdonk Viola McCarthy Studentship – Dr. Sushmita Pamidi
H. Grenville Smith Studentship – Dr. Momar Ndao William Northey Award – Mrs. Julie Schmitt
H. Grenville Smith Studentship – Dr. Jean-Pierre Routy Klaassen-Hawthorne Memorial Fellowship – Dr. David Labbé
Lilian Wilkins Professorship – Ms. Elizabeth Teel Wendell and Margaret Laidley Fellowship – Dr. Christina Wolfson
Edwin W. Twizell Award – Dr. Inés Colmegna


This year’s edition of the Research Awards Ceremony also featured seven fellowships and grants, which were funded as part of our ongoing $10 million fundraising campaign in honour of Drs. Sylvia and Richard Cruess.  We are pleased to support the creation of studentships, fellowships, and professorships, which are essential for the MUHC to recruit the world’s most promising researchers and maintain its reputation as one of the top three research hospitals in Canada.

Claudio and Diane Bussandri Fellowship – Dr. Sam Daniel Stevenson Family Fellowship – Dr. Alexandre Gregorieff
John and Adrienne Peacock Fellowship – Dr. Stéphane Rinfret Valerie and Gary Aitken Cancer Research Award – Dr. Paola Ulacia Flores
Ellen Wallace and David Laidley Fellowship – Dr. Louise Pilote Susan Fitzpatrick Award for Skin Cancer – Dr. Ivan V. Litvinov
Lucy Riddell Award – Dr. Momar Ndao Marie Pineau and François Schubert Award of Excellent – Gilbert G. Matte and Thanh-Thao Ngo

Congratulations to all of this year’s recipients!

Sign up to learn more

We'll send you updates on the world-class doctors and researchers transforming patient care at the MUHC, share important health and wellness tips, and demonstrate how we are impacting healthcare for you, and for those you love.

You have successfully subscribed!

Inscrivez-vous pour en savoir plus

Nous vous enverrons des mises à jour concernant les médecins et chercheurs de renommée internationale qui transforment les soins aux patients au CUSM. Nous partagerons avec vous d’importants conseils de santé et de bien-être et vous montreront l’impact que nous avons sur les soins de santé, pour vous et ceux qui vous sont chers.

Vous avez été inscrit avec succès!