On October 3, the annual Research Institute Awards Dinner took place at the Centre Mont-Royal in downtown Montreal. Hosted by the Research Institute of the MUHC (RI-MUHC) and the partner Foundations of the MUHC, close to 100 awards were distributed to some of the hospital’s most promising researchers. The MUHC and RVH Foundations’ recognized 32 researchers for their ongoing research work.

Maria Rosa Saderra Award – Dr. Nicole Bernard Ethel Lillian Creller Award – Dr. Louise Pilote
Theresa Marcoux Award – Dr. Jan Seuntjens Pauline Blidner Krupp Studentship Award – Dr. Ibrahim Yaseen Hachim
Howard W. Pillow Memorial Award – Dr. Michael Segab Jack Auberbach Studentship – Yanran Wang
Catherine Coyne Memorial Fellowship – Dr. Richard Kremer Dr. Gordon Petrie Memorial Fellowship in Orthopaedics – Dr. Paul Martineau
Eileen and Louis Dubrovsky Award – Dr. John Kildea William Turner Award – Dr. George Thanassoulis
Madelaine Tremblay Award – Dr. Alice Dragomir Brigadier-General Herbert Stanley Birkett Memorial Research Studentship – Dr. Aparna Suvrathan
Ephrem Marcil Award – Dr. Simon Wing Molson Foundation Award – Dr. Chris O’Flaherty
Paul Stelmach Award – Dr. Jeremy Van Raamsdonk Margaret Forster Memorial Studentship – Marwan Ghanem
H. Grenville Smith Studentship – Dr. Maria Celia Fernandez Viola McCarthy Studentship – Philippe Duquette and Dr. Rosalie Ponte
Lilian Wilkins Professorship – Dr. Donald Vinh William Northey Award – Dr. Arianne Marelli
Edwin W. Twizell Award – Dr. Jean-Baptiste Rivière Klaassen-Hawthorne Memorial Fellowship – Dr. David Labbé
Phyllis Allan A. Aitken Memorial Award – Dr. Barry Bedell Wendell and Margaret Laidley Fellowship – Dr. Christina Wolfson


This year’s edition of the Research Institute Awards Dinner also featured 7 new scholarships and grants, which were funded as part of our ongoing $10 million fundraising campaign in honour of Drs. Sylvia and Richard Cruess.  Part of the donations to this initiative have supported the creation of studentships, fellowships, and professorships, which are essential for the MUHC to recruit the world’s most promising researchers and maintain its reputation as one of the premier healthcare facilities in North America.

Claudio and Diane Bussandri Fellowship – Dr. Sam Daniel Stevenson Family Fellowship – Dr. Alexandre Gregorieff
John and Adrienne Peacock Fellowship – Dr. Stéphane Rinfret Doggone Award for Cancer Research – Dr. Lucy Gilbert
Ellen Wallace and David Laidley Fellowship – Dr. Livia Garzia Susan Fitzpatrick Award– Dr. Ivan V. Litvinov
Lucy Riddell Studentship – Dr. Momar Ndao

Congratulations to all of this year’s recipients!